Stars of Education/Teacher of the Year

May 07, 2020

Every spring, The Foundation for Oklahoma City Public Schools honors those who do the day-to-day work of educating our city’s children.

The community-wide celebration starts in the fall of each school year when District staff, students, parents and community members submit nominations for the Partners in Action Community Partner of the Year, Super Support Staff Awards and Valuable Volunteer Awards.

Each school site also selects their “Building Teacher of the Year” each fall.  This gives the district’s top educators time to put together a comprehensive portfolio demonstrating the educator’s teaching philosophy, which is then reviewed by past district Teachers of the Year finalists, honorees and state Teachers of the Year.  With a lot of hard work, these submissions are narrowed down to an elite group of finalists, who compete to represent the Oklahoma City Public School District in the State Teacher of the Year competition.

The celebration is in the spring as site-based award ceremonies are held throughout the District celebrating the top partnerships, support staff and volunteers. As the school year draws to a close, the Stars of Education celebration concludes with the district Teacher of the Year announcement.

Please join The Foundation for Oklahoma City Public Schools as we celebrate this event — May 9, 5:30 p.m. - 7:30 p.m. — at the Historic OKC Farmers Public Market. Business attire is suggested. Please RSVP to or 405-604-5977.

Your 2019 Teacher of the Year finalists are:

  • Katie Alsup, Belle Isle Enterprise Middle School, 7th Grade Geography
  • Tara Bassett, Oklahoma Centennial Mid-High, English
  • Sally Berry, Johnson Elementary, 6th Grade
  • Debra Cox, Buchanan Elementary, Special Education
  • Julio Fajardo, Capitol Hill Elementary, 6th Grade
  • Amanda Girdler, Kaiser Elementary, 6th Grade
  • Monica Green-Griffin, Hillcrest Elementary, Reading Remedial Specialist
  • Molly Jaynes, Cesar Chavez Elementary, 3rd Grade
  • Christina Kirk, Rogers Middle School, 8th Grade English & AVID Elective Teacher

Previous Winners

  • Anthony Chancellor, Belle Isle Enterprise Middle School, 2018
  • Madison Wingate, Pierce Elementary School, 2017
  • Rebecka Graffigna – Linwood Elementary, 2016
  • Samantha Murch – Star Spencer High School, 2015
  • Meredith Ziegler – Wilson Arts Integration Elementary, 2014
  • Heather Meldrum – Stanley Hupfeld Western Village Academy, 2013
  • Daniel Buckmaster – Belle Isle Enterprise Middle School, 2012
  • Nikki Cowshow – Edgemere Elementary, 2011
  • Meredith Wronowski – Capitol Hill High School, 2010
  • Jennifer Robinson – Classen School of Advanced Studies, 2009
  • Heather Sparks – Taft Middle School, 2008
  • Michael Payne – Classen School of Advanced Studies, 2007
  • Sanford Jackson – Taft Middle School, 2006
  • Robyn Hilger – Bell Isle Enterprise Middle School, 2005
  • Jill Scott – Andrew Johnson Elementary School, 2004
  • Michael McGuire – Northeast Academy, 2003

Thank you to our 2019 Stars of Education sponsors!

Diamond Sponsors — $10,000

  • AT&T
  • EDGE Productions
  • Cliff and Leslie Hudson
  • SONIC, America's Drive-In
  • Dick and Glenna Tanenbaum

Platinum Sponsors — $5,000

  • American Fidelity Foundation
  • Crossings Community Church
  • Inasmuch Foundation
  • Love's Travel Stops and Country Stores
  • Oklahoma City Thunder
  • The McLaughlin Family Foundation

Gold Sponsors — $2,500

  • ARVEST Bank
  • AT&T
  • Compellier
  • Continental Resources
  • Cox Communications
  • Kirkpatrick Foundation
  • OGE Energy Corp
  • Potts Family Foundation
  • SONIC, America’s Drive-In
  • Natalie Shirley

Silver Sponsors — $1,500

  • BancFirst
  • BC Clark Jewelers
  • Crowe & Dunlevy
  • Devon
  • Dobson Technologies
  • Oklahoma Shirt Company
  • WEOKIE Credit Union

Bronze Sponsors — $500

  • The Alliance for Economic Development of Oklahoma City
  • Arvest Foundation
  • Blue Cross & Blue Shield of OK
  • Bank of America
  • Candor
  • Friends of Northwest Classen High School Foundation
  • Greater Oklahoma City Chamber
  • Harrison-Orr Air Conditioning, LLC
  • HoganTaylor LLP
  • Tim and Nancy Johnsen
  • LDWW
  • MA+ Architecture
  • Faye Norton
  • OKC-AFT Local 2309
  • Oklahoma City Community College
  • Marnie Taylor
  • Tommy & Joan Thompson
  • University of Central Oklahoma
  • University of Central Oklahoma - College of Education and Professional Studies