Wall of Fame

November 02, 2017

The Foundation for Oklahoma City Public Schools will induct new members into the Wall of Fame on Nov. 2 at the 33rd annual Wall of Fame Humanitarian Awards dinner. The 2017 class will join 77 other alumni who have been inducted since the Wall of Fame was created in 1985.

Over the past 32 years, the Wall of Fame has celebrated the long, rich history of Oklahoma City Public Schools (OKCPS). It includes some of the city’s and nation’s most influential business, community and artistic leaders. The awards event will begin with a reception at 6 p.m. and dinner at 7 p.m. on at the Embassy Suites in downtown Oklahoma City.

To nominate accomplished alumni of OKCPS for the Wall of Fame, contact debby@okckids.com. The deadline for nominations is June 1, 2017

2016 Honorees

Ronald E. Bogle
Shields Heights Elementary School, Webster Junior High School, Southeast High School

Ronald E. Bogle grew up in South Oklahoma City. He attended Shields Heights Elementary School, Webster Junior High School and is a 1970 graduate of Southeast High School.

As civic leader in Oklahoma City, Bogle was involved in broad range of activities including serving on the Oklahoma City Board of Education as an elected member for nine years with four of those years as president; directing the successful city-wide campaign for the original MAPS initiative; a founding leader of the OKC MAPS for KIDS initiative; and graduating from both Leadership Oklahoma City and Leadership Oklahoma. Professionally, Ron served for several years as Vice President at Oklahoma City University, followed by five years as Vice President at the University of Central Oklahoma.

In 2002 Bogle left the City to become the President and CEO of the American Architectural Foundation in Washington D. C. As President, Bogle has grown and transformed the American Architectural Foundation into a dynamic national leadership organization with a new portfolio of programs that help shape US cities, neighborhoods and schools, and support new approaches to urban problem-solving with a focus on creating more livable, sustainable and equitable cities. AAF’s focus on creative placemaking and equitable City development is especially important to low-income citizens in underserved communities. The most recent program launched by Bogle and his AAF team is a collaborative initiative with the Bill and Melinda Gates Foundation in support of the transformation of urban American Public schools.

In additional to his domestic work in the US, Ron is an inaugural member the National Commission for UNESCO, Initial appointment by Secretary of State Colin Powell in 2004 and reappointed in 2010 by Secretary of State Hillary Rodham Clinton.

Paula B. Pretlow
Truman Elementary, Eisenhower Jr. High, Northwest Classen High School

Paula B. Pretlow is a former senior vice president of one of the world’s largest and most successful investment management firms, The Capital Group. She spent her entire career in finance.

Ms. Pretlow, who has always been dedicated to giving back, is involved in a variety of civic activities centered on non-profit boards, foundations and volunteer work. She serves on the board of The Kresge Foundation, a $3.6 billion private, national foundation that works to expand opportunities in America's cities, including Detroit, through grant-making and social investing in six program areas. She was recently elected to the Northwestern University board of trustees, where she is also on its Weinberg College of Arts and Sciences board of visitors. Additionally, she serves on the boards of the San Francisco Symphony and her synagogue in San Francisco, Congregation EmanuEl. Her extensive volunteer and board work has always had a lens on education and youth, including a homeless youth-serving organization and educational non-profits focused on underserved youth of color. Pretlow is a recipient of the Aiming High Award from Legal Momentum, the nation’s oldest legal advocacy organization dedicated to advancing the rights of women and girls.

Pretlow received her BA in political science from Northwestern University and her MBA from Northwestern’s Kellogg School of Management. She is the proud mother of two young adults, Neil and Alison, and mother-in-law to Tanya. She loves world travel, especially to developing countries, music, theatre, urban hiking and the list goes on.

Mason Williams
Hawthorne Elementary School, Taft Junior High School, Classen High School, Northwest Classen High School

Mason Williams was a member of Northwest Classen High School’s first graduating class in 1956. He went on to become a strong force in television and music circles, most widely known as composer and recording artist of the three-time Grammy Award winning hit, Classical Gas. In his career, Williams recorded and released 7 singles, 24 albums and 2 EPs. Williams also had an impressive 30-year career as a comedy writer, namely writing for The Smothers Brothers Comedy Hour. He has published 16 literary/art books and 5 music books and written 174 hours of broadcast television. Williams holds an honorary Doctorate of Music from his Alma Mater, Oklahoma City University and was officially designated the Musician Laureate for the State of Oregon.


Through the Years: Wall of Fame Humanitarian Award Honorees

Bob Barry Sr., 2009 Kirk Humphreys, 2007
Skip Bayless, 2008 Wanda Jackson, 2013
G.T. Blankenship, 1999 Wallace Johnson, 2004
Jo Carol Cameron, 2013 Commissioner Willa Johnson, 2015
B.C. Clark, Jr., 1998 Lou Kerr, 2001
Jim C. Clark, 2010 Eleanor Blake Kirkpatrick, 1990
Dr. Benton C. Clark III, 2015 John Elson Kirkpatrick, 1990
Richard H. Clements, 1997 Linda Lambert, 2004
Andrew M. Coats, 1998 Mona Salyer Lambird, 1996
Edward H. Cook, 2014 James Loftis, 2013
Wayne Coyne, 2007 J.W. Mashburn, 2002 
Admiral William J. Crowe, 1987 Aubrey McClendon, 2011
Edgar Cruz, 2004 The Honorable Vicki Miles-LaGrange, 2006
James R. Daniel, 2009 Bobby R. Murcer, 1994
The Honorable Timothy D. DeGiusti, 2012 Donna Nigh, 1997
Marion Briscoe DeVore, 1988 Mayor James H. Norick, 1992
L. Thomas Dulaney Jr., 2008 Madalynne Norick, 1992
Rand Elliot, 2011 Mayor Ronald J. Norick, 1995
Dr. Robert S. Ellis, 2000 Paul B. Odom, Jr., 2004
Ralph W. Ellison, 1994 Russell M. Perry, 2000
Harvey P. Everest, 1985 Allie P. Reynolds, 1994
David G. Fitzgerald, 2014 William J. Ross, 2005
Kris Frankfurt, 2007 Thom Shanker, 2012
William Frankfurt, 2007 Jeanne Hoffman Smith, 2000
Mex Rodman Frates, 1986 Lee Allan Smith, 1989
Rodman Frates, 2006 Horace Stevenson, 2014
Prentice Gautt, 2012 Lela Bennett Sullivan, 2003
Vince Gill, 2001 Kathy Taylor, 2015
Alan C. Greenberg, 1993 The Honorable Ralph G. Thompson, 2003
Rubye Hibler Hall, 2002 Erik Logan Toppenberg, 2011
V. Burns Hargis, 2002 Christopher C. Turner, 2003
Edith Gaylor Harper, 1999 Marylin Jones Upsher, 2006
Joyce Henderson, 2012 Helen Ford Wallace, 2005
Dannie Bea Hightower, 2001 Larkin Warner, 2011
Carolyn Hill, 2008 Anthony L. Watson, 2010
Sarah Hogan, 1999 A. Max Weitzenhoffer, Jr., 2010
J. Clifford Hudson, 2009 Stanton L. Young, 1991